Today is final day for reduced Newsroom Seminar registration


Early-bird registration for the Newsroom Seminar and Better Newspaper Awards Lunch­eon runs through today, Nov. 11.

The day of educational sessions and award presentations will be Satur­day, Dec. 3 at the Indian­apolis Marriott North, a new location for the annual event.

Newsroom Seminar

When: 8:30 a.m. Dec. 3; awards lunch starts at 12:30 p.m.

Where: Indianapolis Marriott North

Registration: Brochures have been mailed to your newsroom. Click here to register online or download a form.

Sessions begin at 8:30 a.m. The day concludes with lunch and awards starting at 12:30 p.m.

Registration information has been mailed to newsrooms. Staff members also can sign up online at

“We encourage HSPA members to take advantage of the early-bird registration deadline to save money,” said Karen T. Braeckel, HSPA Foundation director. “Pay­ment may follow as long as the Foundation has your registration information by Nov. 11.”

Speakers at the Newsroom Seminar will include:

  • Tom French, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter.
  • John Krull, director of the Franklin College Pulliam School of Journalism and the Franklin College Statehouse Bureau.
  • Lesley Stedman Weid­en­bener, Franklin College Statehouse Bureau assistant bureau chief.
  • John Strauss, journalism instructor at Ball State University.
  • Kristy Deer of the Daily Reporter (Green­field) and John Russell of The Indian­apolis Star, winners of the 2011 Ray Moscowitz Award for journalistic achieve­­ment in lifting veils of secrecy.
  • Stephen Key, executive director and general council of HSPA.
  • Joe Hoage, Indiana’s public access counselor.
  • Matt Kryger, photojournalist at The Indianapolis Star.
  • Charlie Riedel, Associated Press photographer.
  • Jim Brown, executive associate dean emeritus and professor emeritus, IU School of Journalism – Indianapolis.
  • Danese Kenon, Indian­apolis Star multimedia journalist.

For more information on the sessions and schedule, visit or send an email to