See you at the Newsroom Seminar on Saturday


Note new location on Indy’s northside

HSPA Foundation hopes for good weather during this year’s Newsroom Seminar.

Snow kept some registrants at home during the 2010 event.

The day of educational sessions and award presentations will be Satur­day, Dec. 3 at the Indian­apolis Marriott North.

Newsroom Seminar stats

When: 8:30 a.m. Saturday, Dec. 3; awards luncheon starts at 12:30 p.m.

Where: Indianapolis Marriott North, 3645 River Crossing Parkway (new location)

Directions and more information: CLICK HERE or send an email to

Attendees should note the new location for the event.

Sessions begin at 8:30 a.m., and the day concludes with lunch and awards starting at 12:30 p.m.

Speakers at the Newsroom Seminar will include:

  • Tom French, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter.
  • John Krull, director of the Franklin College Pulliam School of Journalism and the Franklin College Statehouse Bureau.
  • Lesley Stedman Weid­en­bener, Franklin College Statehouse Bureau assistant bureau chief.
  • John Strauss, journalism instructor at Ball State University.
  • Kristy Deer of the Daily Reporter (Green­field) and John Russell of The Indian­apolis Star, winners of 2011 Ray Moscowitz Awards for journalistic achieve­­ment in lifting veils of secrecy.
  • Steve Key, executive director and general council of HSPA.
  • Joe Hoage, Indiana’s public access counselor.
  • Matt Kryger, photojournalist at The Indianapolis Star.
  • Charlie Riedel, Associated Press photographer.
  • Jim Brown, executive associate dean emeritus and professor emeritus, IU School of Journalism – Indianapolis.
  • Danese Kenon, Indian­apolis Star multimedia journalist.

For directions and more information on the sessions, CLICK HERE or send an email to