Hall of Fame ceremony Oct. 24


Reservations are still available for the 50th annual Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame induction this month.

Hoosier journalists will gather in Alumni Hall at Indiana University’s Memorial Student Union Oct. 24 to celebrate the golden anniversary of the founding of the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame and induct seven new members.

Syndicated editorial cartoonist and 2015 inductee Gary Varvel of The Indianapolis Star has donated a commemorative cartoon of 35 iconic images of Hall of Fame inductees for the golden anniversary event.

The journalists being inducted in 2015 in addition to Varvel are Bob Daugherty, AP photojournalist; Tom French, reporter, author, and educator; John Rumbach, editor and co-publisher of the

Herald of Dubois County; the late Gene Slaymaker (1928-2012), broadcast journalist and editorial writer; the late Lotys B. Stewart (1908-1963) fashion and home editor; and Cleve Wilhoit, journalism researcher and educator.

The cost of the event is $50 per person ($25 for children 12 and under). The reception for inductees and honored guests begins at 10:30 a.m. with the luncheon at 11:30, and induction at 12:30.

For reservations, emailing ijhf@indiana.edu or download a reservation form from www.indianajournalismhof.org.