Better Newspaper Contest winners announced for 2015


Journalists from around the state gathered in Indianapolis for training and recognition Dec. 5.

The HSPA Foundation presented its Newsroom Seminar and Better Newspaper Contest Awards Luncheon at the Indianapolis Marriott North, held annually on the first Saturday of December.

Morning training sessions in investigative reporting, public access to information, digital news, storytelling and photography preceded the awards luncheon.

Taking home the top honors were the Daily Journal (Franklin) and The Corydon Democrat, who won the daily and nondaily Blue Ribbon Awards, respectively.

The second place daily Blue Ribbon Award went to The Indianapolis Star, and the Jour­nal & Courier (Lafayette) received third place.

In the nondaily Blue Ribbon division, the The Times-Post (Pendleton) took second place, and third went to the Hendricks County Flyer (Avon)

Other top honors included:

Story of the Year: Mikel Livingston & Steven Porter, Journal & Courier (Lafayette), The great Chicago myth

Photo of the Year: Jonathan Miano, The Times (Munster), A Proper Burial

Ray Moscowitz Award: Kim Kilbride, South Bend Tribune, education beat watchdog reporting

General Excellence first-place awards:

  • Division 1: The Times-Post (Pendleton)
  • Division 2: Brown County Democrat (Nashville)
  • Division 3: The Tribune (Seymour)
  • Division 4: Daily Journal (Franklin)
  • Division 5: The Republic (Columbus)
  • Division 6: South Bend Tribune