Committee picks Foundation’s Pulliam interns


The HSPA Foundation Eugene S. Pulliam Internship Selection Committee reviewed applications March 10 at the HSPA office to choose the 10 interns for this summer.

Of the 55 students who began the application process, 33 submitted all components to qualify – the application form, a résumé, three work samples, a letter of recommendation from a professor or adviser and a personal statement.

“We were pleased with the number of applications considering the current industry climate,” said Karen T. Braeckel, HSPA Foundation director. “We had about the same number of applicants as previous years, and the talent level still ran high.”

Students from 14 colleges and universities applied with one out-of-state school represented.

Members of the committee selected the top 10 students and then ranked alternates. Braeckel began working on placements this week and will announce interns and newspaper placements when they are finalized.

The Foundation will pilot a new aspect of the internship program this year. Additional students can work for college-credit only. The committee recommended additional students with good skills who might need an internship for graduation. They would be unpaid.

“The majority of our newspapers responded ‘yes’ to the question of taking a credit-only student if we found a good fit,” Braeckel said. “This may allow us to match a few more students with our members to help both.”

When a newspaper receives a Foundation intern, the editor or staff mentor agrees to serve on the Pulliam selection committee the following year.

Members of this year’s committee include Jim Brown, Pulliam intern multimedia coach; Dan Davis, The Tribune (Seymour); Kevin Green, Rushville Republican; Nancy Grossman, The Salem Leader & The Salem Democrat; Jill Hoffman, The Loogootee Tribune; Kevin Koelling, The Spencer County Journal-Democrat (Rockport); Alan Petersime, The Indianapolis Star; Nelson Price, Pulliam intern writing coach; Randy Rendfeld, The Courier-Times (New Castle); Elliot Tompkin, The Madison Courier; and Bob Zaltsberg, The Herald-Times (Bloomington).