Registration for Annual Meetings ends Feb. 10


Publishers have through Friday, Feb. 10 to register for the Annual Meetings and Government Conference.

The HSPA and HSPA Foundation joint event on Thursday-Friday, Feb. 16-17, brings together newspaper leaders from around the state to share ideas, network and learn about issues facing the industry.

The sessions, along with the event’s annual Legislative Luncheon, will be at the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown.

Annual Meetings & Government Conference

When: Thursday-Friday, Feb. 16-17

Where: Indian­apolis Marriott Downtown

Registration: Click here to download a form to fax or register online.

Hotel reservations and information: Shawn Goldsby, or (317) 803-4772 

Newspaper employees can register online at or fax the form newspapers received by mail. To download additional hard copies of the form, visit the Foundation website.

Please note the change to a Thursday-Friday format at the request of publishers who had conflicts with the event’s previous Wednesday-Thursday schedule.

The Annual Meetings will include information on Media $ales Basics, a web-based advertising training program available free for HSPA-member newspapers in 2012.

Publishers should plan to invite their state representatives and senators to the Legislative Luncheon on Thursday, Feb. 16, when HSPA presents the Frank O’Bannon Sunshine Award.

HSPA will provide invitations for newspapers to send lawmakers.

The Distinguished Service Award honoree will receive the traditional winner’s cup at the Governor’s Reception on Feb. 16. State Attorney General Greg Zoeller will speak.

Session speaker Chris Lee, executive vice president and publisher for the Deseret News (Salt Lake City), will address upheavals in consumption, costs and culture of the news industry on Feb. 17.

His presentation also will include a focus on ideas for cost reductions.

Lee, a Harvard Business School graduate with a master’s degree in business administration, previously was chairman and chief executive officer at Herit­age Makers, a marketer of web-to-print personalized photo products.

Other speakers include Daniel Byron of Indian­apolis law firm Bingham Greenebaum Doll, who will address libel; Tonda Rush, chief executive officer of the National Newspaper Association, who will speak via Skype about postal changes affecting newspapers; and Stephen Key, HSPA executive director and general counsel, who will update publishers on state legislative issues affecting newspapers.

Indiana publishers in­­cluding Henry Bird (CNHI), Karen Crotchfelt (Star Media), Brandon Erlacher (The Elkhart Truth) and Terry Hous­holder (KPC Media Group) will take part in a panel discussion on actions they plan to take in the next five to 10 years to position their papers for greater success.

Roundtable sessions designed to facilitate idea sharing will culminate in an iPad 2 giveaway for the person with the best idea.

Facilitators will be Indiana publishers Patrick Lanman (Vevay News­papers Inc.), Randy List (Rust Communications), Jon O’Bannon (O’Bannon Publishing Co. Inc.), Bird and Tina West (The Cour­ier-Times in New Castle).

For more information, contact HSPA at (317) 807-4772 or