Scholarships offered to students, professionals


The Woman’s Press Club of Indiana is awarding three $500 scholarships to Indiana journalism students.

The deadline for submissions is Friday, April 4, 2014. The awards will be given on May 17 at the annual banquet and meeting.

Application details and contest rules are posted at

Hortense P. Myers Memorial Journalism $500 Scholarship

A former United Press International statehouse reporter, in 1942 Hortense P. Myers was the first woman to work for the press service. A 1953 graduate of Butler University, Myers was inducted into the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame in 1977. The $500 scholarship in her honor will be awarded to a junior-level Indiana college student, male or female, who is planning a career in journalism.

Louise Eleanor Ross Kleinhenz Memorial $500 Scholarship

One $500 award will be made to a woman over age 30 who desires to upgrade her skills to re-enter the journalism job market or to seek a better-paying job. This award is given in memory of Louise Eleanor Ross Kleinhenz, a WPCI 45-year member and former president.

Julie and Gene Slaymaker $500 Scholarship for Public Service

The Julie and Gene Slaymaker Scholarship for Public Service will award $500 to a student or professional journalist who has provided public service to journalism in the past year. The applicant must provide documentation from the recipient of the public service.

Founded in 1913, the Woman’s Press Club of Indiana is a nonprofit organization of media professionals in communication. It is a charter member and a current affiliate of the National Federation of Press Women. WPCI welcomes into its membership male and female professional communicators and communications students.